The 4th Annual Musicians of Note celebrates five inductees to the Class of 2023

The 4th Annual Musicians of Note celebrates five inductees to the Class of 2023

Last night at Batavia High School, the fourth annual “Musicians of Note” paid tribute to honorees of the Class of 2023.

This year’s honorees were:

  • Diana Dipson Class of 1929, 1911-1997
  • Melanie  “Melzie” Lakin Case, Class of 2012
  • Deanna Spiotta, Class of 2005
  • Brian Fontaine-Isaac, Class of 2001
  • Gloria McLauglin, retired music instructor, 1970-1989

The 2022 Musicians of Note honoree Mark Hoerbelt was recognized last evening, as he was unable to attend last year.

Each candidate was acknowledged for their music successes in high school, college and post-education research by a tribute video narrated by the Master of Ceremonies Paul Spiotta.  Some of the candidates every performed on stage with their music of choice, accompanied by college students and workers.

The college district honored two very expensive colleagues and supporters of the Batavia Music Department.

First was James Owen, son of Frank E. Owen, a robust supporter of the music division at BHS.  He contributed scholarships, served on the Committee of Musicians of Note and was praised for his kindness, generosity, passion and humorousness.

Second was earlier BHS band director, 2001 Musicians of Note honoree, Ken Hay, who taught many college students at BHS and made a robust influence for 20 years.  He was remembered by many for his inspiration, talent and nurturing of the scholars he taught.

Superintendent Jason Smith spoke highly and dearly of each Jim Owen and Ken Hay, who lately handed away in his opening remarks together with congratulating the Class of 2023 inductees, ending with a quote from Jimi Hendrix, “Music doesn’t lie. If there’s something to be modified on this world, then it might possibly solely occur through music.”

The Musician of Note Committee is accepting nominations for subsequent 12 months’s honorees although October. You may find the applying for the Musician of Note on BCSD Website or e-mail [email protected] to have one emailed to you personally for future nominations or click on here.

The above picture is provided. Pictured left to right, Gloria McLauglin, Mark Hoerbelt ( Class of 2022 inductee ) Deanna Spiotta, Brian Fontaine-Isaac, Melanie Lakin Case “Melzie”, not pictured Diana Dipson.

To view or purchase photos, click here.

Photos by Steve Ognibene


Pictured left to right, Jane Haggett-Paladino Music Department Chairperson, Jason Smith BCSD Superintendent, Paul Kesler, BHS Principal, Melzie Case, Class of 2023 Inductee


Melanie “Melzie” Case, Class of 2012


Deanna Spiotta, Class of 2005


Brian Fontaine-Isaac, Class of 2001


Gloria McLaughlin – Retired Music Teacher 1970-1989


Mark Hoerbelt – 2022 Musicians of Note Inductee

Related Stories